Spring Design For Journalism Section 2

An Exciting Day in Philadelphia

Posted in Uncategorized by leetempledaigaku on February 10, 2010

Lots of interesting stuff happened on February the 3rd, so I just had to use that day for my photo package.

For that week’s paper I written a preview article on two Japanese bands that were coming to Philadelphia for the first time. I was also writing about the actual events for the next weeks papers. Two events; a mini-performance/autograph signing and a full concert.

When I got back from my dorm to get ready for the event, I saw my new laptop had finally arrived after getting caught in customs and arriving late. But there was no time to play with it!

But there’s always time to take off my hat and take a peak at the news. (Old newspapers tend to pile up on my couch)

When I’m in a hurry, dinner consists of ramen and tea.

When I got to the record store there were already many people in colorful costumes waiting to see the bands.

People crammed in between the CD shelves to see the band, there wasn’t a stage or anything for the band to perform on. They were just going to stand in front of us.

I managed to get a good spot in front of everyone because I was press. I got out my Canon 40D and an external flash and snapped some shots. They only played one song per band so I had to be fast.

After their brief performance they wiggled through the crowd over to their autograph tables to give autographs in exchange for buying an album.

Fans hung around for a while talking, when I finally left I just made the last train. I was the only one in the station.

-Lee Miller

(Tech details. Cameras: Olympus SP-550, Canon 40D. All images hosted on my web space)

Leave a Reply

