Spring Design For Journalism Section 2

Magazine Cover- Becky Kerner

Posted in Uncategorized by rkerner on March 23, 2010



My magazine is a niche travel magazine pertaining only to New York City. The magazine has a very contemporary and urban feel, but also excited the traveler about New York’s uniqueness. I used a picture of Time Square which I took last weekend as the image because it is vibrant and interesting at which to look.  I also used Photoshop to bring out the colors even more so for this image to make it more eye-popping. Because the picture is so busy, I wanted to keep my sell lines and fonts somewhat basic and minimal.  Tall Paul is a very urban-looking font, so I chose that for the logo and tied it in with select sell lines.  Then I used a basic font for the other sell lines, switching it up with Tall Paul to keep it interesting but also create a general theme.I didn’t want to exceed two fonts because it would have made the cover too busy. I did, however, vary my font between sell lines in order to emphasize certain parts. I also added several effects to the layers so that the fonts would stand out more and have even more personality.

I chose red and black as font colors because they are bold and stood out, but also tied in well with the other colors. I used the pen tool to select the same red from parts of the cover picture so that they would match. The color combination added to the general theme of urban tourism and vibrant colors.  By the way, I chose the overall  theme of being bold and alive because it matches the city of New York well, and represents the city. I was also sure to vary between red and black between each sell line in order to emphasize certain words. For the INSIDE SCOOP and Best of Broadway sell lines I used overlapping leading for an added visual element. I also varied some kearning of letters.

I used alignment and repetition in the INSIDE SCOOP and Best of Broadway sell lines, using the same layer style for these two and aligning them to the right of the page.  In addition, I used repetition between fonts and colors to make the cover easier to understand and for organizational purposes. Contrast was present between the black and red fonts, as well as between the gray boxes and their backgrounds, and font colors. Contrast, in my opinion, is one of the most important parts of the magazine cover, especially one with a vibrant and contemporary theme. So, it is constantly repeated over the cover, each piece being in contrast with those around it.  Proximity is important for the placement of my sell lines and information.  I didn’t put any too close to one another because I didn’t want it to be hard to differentiate between sell lines, but the two that looked similarly I put right on top of each other to create unity.  I also wanted to use as much white space as possible.

Leave a Reply

