Spring Design For Journalism Section 2

Josh Boden Magazine Cover

Posted in Uncategorized by joshboden on March 24, 2010

Hello all. Though I study in the United States of America, I am a citizen and proud resident of Canada. That’s obviously very important to me, as is my interest in all things music. My magazine was created to highlight the vibrant music industry of the Great White North. There are many great Canadian music acts, but for good reason they tend to relocate to places like Brooklyn, Nashville, and Los Angeles to find success. This magazine will appeal to Canadians with a passion for music and pride for homegrown artists. It should also appeal to music fans in general.

My cover features a prominent artist named Dallas Green, also known as City and Colour and a member of Alexisonfire. I found this fantastic picture on his website. The gray background of the image really makes Dallas himself stand out on the page. I didn’t want to distract from that too much, so I limited the text that covered his body and tried not to add distracting colours. To add a sense of harmony, I made the title, Northern Music, the same colour as his shirt. 

Leave a Reply

