Spring Design For Journalism Section 2

katie tully’s magazine cover

Posted in Uncategorized by tullyk on March 24, 2010

My magazine is a typical fashion/beauty magazine targeted to young women.  I chose this type of magazine because it would be the type I would normally pick up off the shelves, and the type that my close friends relate to. I used a picture of my roommate at the beach that  I took last summer because I wanted to create a summer issue. The beachy background provides a laid back and fun mood, which is exactly what I was trying to create.  I wanted my magazine to be exciting yet relaxed at the same time, and I think that the beach background and cute pose of my roommate, Sam, is able to express that.  I chose the title ‘Bella’ because it means beautiful in Italian and is a pretty word that I felt would draw young women to my magazine.

I chose the font colors in an interesting way.  I wanted to use beach colors, so i used the blue in Sam’s shirt for the title.  Although the blue is pretty, I knew I couldn’t just use one color for the entire cover.  I noticed Sam’s lips were a pretty pink, and decided that would be a great contrasting, yet visually appealing choice for some of the text. I also used black to add just a little bit more to the cover.  The bar code I used was easy to find online and I inserted it just to add a more professional feel to my cover.

I used alignment in the way that I set up my different texts around Sam’s body.  It was easy to figure out a way to make the different sell lines appear aligned in the right way.  I used repetition with the same three font colors and the same two font styles.  I found the font used in the title on dafont.com, because I didn’t want my magazine cover’s text to be too boring. As above mentioned, contrast was used with the blue and pink fonts. Proximity was difficult to deal with because of the way Sam’s body was not centered, but I think I managed to place the sell lines appropriately around her. Although there was no ‘white’ space, I wanted to fill the beach scene around her without drowning it out.  I originally planned on using one or two more sell lines, but the magazine then looked to crowded. By omitting those, I think the use of space around Sam was used in the best way it could have been!

Leave a Reply

