Spring Design For Journalism Section 2

Ian Darrenkamp’s Magazine Spread

Posted in Uncategorized by Ian Darrenkamp on April 14, 2010

Hokay, so this is my magazine spread. It’s the story that was featured on my cover. Again, there’s a lot going on here and I wanted to see if I could make it work out with the story. I really wanted the picture to dominate the entire page as It’s kind of a photography magazine that this article would be in. The script font made sense to me for the title as it kind of goes along with the elegance that is light paining, and I made it like a three-tiered thing when you include the byline. I inserted the sub-head in the center of the page where it the title interfered with it the least and it interfered with the title least. I tried to keep it simple with just two columns, with everything being aligned left. I purposely broke alignment with the”p” in the beginning of the article to add a little dimension while maintaining simplicity. Pretty much I just completely overanalyzed the entire thing and made sure something was aligned with something (the “p” excluded).

Leave a Reply

