Spring Design For Journalism Section 2

London through a Lens

Posted in Uncategorized by natashashapiro on April 14, 2010

LONDON THROUGH A LENS FINAL2

I wanted my spread to be very simple, so as to not take away from the photographs in the article.  As I was designing the layout, I used the main articles in Vanity Fair as a source of inspiration.  Their articles are usually very text heavy, the fonts are usually fairly simple, and they seem to mainly just use black.  Instead of being boring, I find this to be a very visually pleasing and professional looking approach.  I think the design lends itself to the photographs, instead of being distracting and taking away from them.  I didn’t have a relevant article already written, and I didn’t want to stick something random in and have people assume it was the accompanying text, so I just inserted a bunch of random French sentences, so it would still look like it made sense without drawing attention to it.

Leave a Reply

